Revisions

The content revisions feature will allow you to save past versions of content (posts) on your website.

This feature offers an easy and intuitive management interface that allows you to view, revert and delete saved content revisions.

Note: Revisions are available for the following app content types:

  • Basic Page App
  • Blog App
  • Book App
  • FAQ App 
  • Links App
  • News App
  • People Profile App
  • Publications App

Editing a Page to Access Content Revisions options

The main Content Revisions only appear when you are editing a post. You won’t see the Content Revisions options when you are creating the post.  =
 

Content Revisions Options

The Content Revisions options will be on the right hand side of the edit form, titled “Revision Information”.
There is a checkbox to add a new revision when the page is saved. It will be turned on by default.

 

Revision Notes

Revisions notes can be used to briefly summarize the content changes. 
This may be useful when trying to find a specific version of a page.

revisions edit

Accessing Past Revisions from the Edit Screen

You can see past revisions when editing a page. Look to the right and click on the link that says:
 There are currently [x] revisions

content revision area 
After a Revision has been saved, a quick way to access the revisions list is to:

  1. Hover over the hidden gear

  2. Select Revisions

content revision notes

Managing Revisions

The Revisions list screen allows you to view, revert and delete the revisions of page. 


View - Selecting the View option allows you to see the version of the page(s) before making a decision on it.
Revert -  You can choose to revert which will restore that version of the page live. Note: when you revert to a prior revision, a copy is created which becomes the current version.
Delete - You can allow delete a revision from the manage revisions screen. However you cannot delete the live version of the page from here.

Additional Information About Revisions

  • Revisions are available for the following content types: page, blog, book, FAQ, link, news, profile and publications
  • Revisions are automatically turned for each post
  • You get a maximum of 10 saved revisions per post
  • After 10 revisions, any new revisions will begin to overwrite the existing revisions


As a result of revisions feature, you can now access the page meta information (e.g., Publishing Options, URL path settings, etc.) for pages right from the page content widget… this is kind of a big deal.
 

Updated: 12Feb18